null Skip to main content

The Fountain DOWNLOAD - John Adorney

Write a Review
Adding to cart… The item has been added

The Fountain is John Adorney's fifth album and it features Daya and Marcel.

This recording seamlessly follows John's elegant and enchanting 2006 release, Trees of Gold. On these eleven new tracks, his beautiful melodies float over the rhythms and elements of Indian, Middle Eastern, pop, classical and African music.

Once again John showcases his musical skill on several instruments, including cello, keyboard and guitar.

Here, as on all of his releases, John's primarily instrumental compositions are complimented by the luscious, layered textures of female vocalist Daya. Included on The Fountain are two songs - the comforting "Even In Your Darkest Hour" sung by Daya, and the lovely "Comme Le Vent" on which John collaborated with lyricist and African vocalist Marcel Adjibi. 

The Songs:

 1 Safe Haven

2 The Fountain

3 Comme Le Vent - featuring Marcel Adjibi

4Feather on the Wind

5 Echoes of Thunder

6 Even In Your Darkest Hour - featuring Daya

7 The Water Jar

8 Every Breath

9 An Ocean in the Drop

10 Silk and Stone

11 Turn Within


2 Reviews Hide Reviews Show Reviews

  • 5
    John Adorney The Fountain

    Posted by Carol Currier on 26th May 2021

    I recently listened to The Other Shore after years and was reminded of how much I loved it. I looked into how John's music had evolved in nearly 2 decades and picked the fountain because I was drawn to the piece ocean in a drop a reference to Rumi. I love the album. I love the way the pieces are layered and build as do all his productions. It just draws me in. I'll be picking another album soon!

  • 5
    Well, John Adorney has done it again! 5 Star Review

    Posted by Nitish Kulkami on 23rd Apr 2016

    Well, John Adorney has done it again. “An Ocean in the Drop,” from his 2009 album The Fountain, evokes the same ethereal peace that is a trademark of many of his songs. Hard to describe any of his pieces with words, but I’ll try my best. It’s no secret that I love a good hammered dulcimer line, so the beginning of the song appeals to me right away. This one isn’t too terribly complex in form, but its structural simplicity allows for greater complexity in sound design. There are some interesting modulations between the piano lines and the dulcimer motif as the melody shifts from one instrument to another. There are also some very intriguing backwards sound samples that create the perception that the listener is being sucked into the song. Overall, it’s a soothing yet surprisingly cerebral track! The rhythm is something to be studied too. It’s easy to lose yourself in, but when examined more closely, you’ll find that it is a fantastic combination of world drums and other percussion. A Latin shaker opens the song, an African djembe adds in, and as the intro flows into the first verse an Indian tabla joins the mix. It’s very well blended and makes for a beat that is at once smooth and articulate. Before the track ends, ponder the title for a minute. “An Ocean in the Drop.” It seems inside-out at first, but perhaps that’s the point. I won’t speculate as to whether John is going for a deeply philosophical thought or simply an interesting image to visualize, but I’d like to think that there is a deeper meaning there. Depending on how you see it, it’s a beautiful image. I love thinking about the titles behind instrumental pieces. A good composer will use a title to simply suggest what a song is about, but will leave just enough up to the listener’s interpretation to keep things interesting. Considering that he is a music therapist, it comes as no surprise that John is so great at appealing to his audience’s emotions. His music is always very uplifting, despite how slow or upbeat a particular number may be. He recently released a new album called The Fire in the Flint as well as a live concert album and video. If you liked this selection from The Fountain, don’t miss his other albums!

Videos Hide Videos Show Videos